Ireland 15.12.2023

Kerry Co-op elects new chair

Source: The DairyNews
560 EN 中文 ES DE FR
Kerry Co-Operative Creameries has announced the election of James Tangney as the new chairman.
Kerry Co-op elects new chair
A Kerry native and Limerick-based farmer, Tangney succeeds Denis Carroll, a Kerry dairy and sheep farmer, who held the position for the past two years. Tangney, who had previously run for the chairperson position, emerged successful in this election.

The announcement follows a board meeting where Lorraine Mulvihill was appointed as the company secretary.

James Tangney. Image: Kerry Co-op

Kerry Co-op, the largest shareholder in Kerry Group Plc, represents the views and interests of its shareholders, working closely with Kerry Group on behalf of its milk-supplying shareholders. The co-op is governed by a board of 19 directors elected from nine electoral areas across Kerry, Clare, Cork, and Limerick.

Each electoral area has an advisory committee that meets four times a year, with the number of committee members determined by the number of shareholders in each area. The members of the board of directors are elected from these advisory committees to represent their respective electoral areas within Kerry Co-op.
Aaron Smith
Aaron Smith
Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics at the University of California
Every five years, the Department of Agriculture takes a census of farms, all two million of them. The most recent census occurred in 2022, and USDA released the data this week.
Dr. Sylvain Charlebois
Dr. Sylvain Charlebois
senior director of the agri-food analytics lab and a professor in food distribution and policy at Dalhousie University.
‘Lab-grown’ animal-free dairy protein receives approval, paving the way for sustainable alternatives in the dairy industry.
February 2024
  • Mo
  • Tu
  • We
  • Th
  • Fr
  • Sa
  • Su
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29